Use your merits for verification
  1. Help Center
  2. Merit for Individuals
  3. Use your merits for verification

How do I share and verify merits with an individual or organization?

You can share details about merits you have earned with anyone, even if they don't yet have a Merit account. Follow these steps to share your merits with a QR code or URL.

In this article:

  1. Video
  2. Sharing your Merit key (QR code)
  3. Sharing your merit snapshot with a link
  4. Verify merits
  5. What a merit snapshot looks like

Video:

Step-by-step guide:

There are 2 available methods for sharing your merits, both of which use the Merit app for both iOS and Android and share a snapshot of your merits.

You can:

  • Share your Merit key, a QR code that can be scanned by another person's Merit Member App or any other QR code scanning application. Ideal if you are in-person.
  • Share a link to a snapshot of your merits. Ideal for sharing from a distance.

Share your merits

Select merits to share

Share icon Select merits to share

Share using your merit key, a scannable QR code

Step 1: Open the Merit member application and log into your Merit account. On the home screen, select Share your merits.

Step 2: The next screen will show all of your merits. Use the + icons on the right side to individually select which merits you would like to share.

Step 3: Select the option on the bottom left, Use Merit Key.

Step 4: A QR code will be generated. This is your Merit key. For verification, it can be read by the Merit app or any QR code scanning application on another person's mobile device.

Share by sending a link to your merits

Step 1: Open the Merit member application and log into your Merit account. On the home screen, select Share your merits.

Step 2: The next screen will show all of your merits. Use the + icons on the right side to individually select which merits you would like to share. 

Step 3: Once you select your desired merits, select the Share Link button on the bottom right.

Step 4: You will then be shown options for sharing the link to these merits from various apps on your mobile device. You also have the option of copying the text containing the link to paste into a message.

 Step 5: The recipient will be able to open the shared merits in a web browser.

 

Verify someone's shared merits by scanning their merit key

Verify scan viewfinder Set who to verify as

Access saved verified merits later

saved verification receipts

 

What a merit snapshot looks like

Anyone who scans your Merit key or follows the link you share will be brought to a page with details on the shared merits. These details represent a "snapshot" of your shared merits; they reflect the state of the merits at the time they were originally shared. If any details of the merits change after they are shared, the snapshot will not update to reflect those changes. By default, shared merit snapshots are only active for 24 hours.

At the top of the screen, it will display:

  • The name of the person to whom the merits were issued
  • How many merits are included in this snapshot
  • When the snapshot was originally shared
  • When the snapshot expires

Additionally, if you allow this when sharing the merits, they can save a copy of your snapshot so they have the ability to access it beyond the 24-hour limit.

Below that will be cards corresponding to each shared merit, showing basic information like the merit name, recipient name, and issuing organization. To learn more about an individual merit, select Merit details. This will open a window that shows more information about the merit, including any attached files and certificates.